## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Nominating Tohono O'odham Nation Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. to the Department of Homeland Security's Tribal Homeland Security Advisory Council)

**RESOLUTION NO. 22-385** 

WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power "to promote,		
<u> </u>	protect and provide for public health and general welfare of the Tohono		
İ	O'odham Nation and its members" and with the authority "to consult with the		
	Congress of the United States and appropriate federal agencies regarding federal		
	activities that affect the Tohono O'odham Nation" (Constitution, Article VI,		
	Section 1(c)(2) and Section 1(j)); and		
WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation also vests the Legislative Council		
	with the authority to "consult, negotiate and conclude agreements and contracts		
	on behalf of the Nation with Federal, State and local governments and other		
	Indian tribes" (Constitution, Article VI, Section 1(f)); and		
WHEREAS,	the Department of Homeland Security ("DHS") established the first-ever Tribal		
	Homeland Security Advisory Council ("THSAC") which will enable tribal leaders to		
	advise the Secretary on homeland security policies and practices that affect		
	Indian Country and indigenous communities, including emergency		
	management, law enforcement, cybersecurity, domestic terrorism and targeted		
	violence, and border security; and		
WHEREAS,	THSAC will engage with DHS agencies and offices and produce recommendations		
	and reports for the Secretary and will be charged with collaborating on all		
	matters of homeland security as they relate to tribal nations and indigenous		
	communities; and		
WHEREAS,	the THSAC'S membership will be diverse in its leadership, professional		
	backgrounds, technical expertise, and geographic makeup; and		
WHEREAS,	DHS strives to establish a THSAC membership that is reflective of the wide		
	expanse of Indian Country; and		
WHEREAS,	the Border Security Delegation and Domestic Affairs Committee recommend		
	nominating Tohono O'odham Nation Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. for membership in		
	the Department of Homeland Security's Tribal Homeland Security Advisory		
	Council.		
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council nominates			
	Tohono O'odham Nation Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. for membership in the		
	Department of Homeland Security's Tribal Homeland Security Advisory Council.		

## **RESOLUTION NO. 22-385**

(Nominating Tohono O'odham Nation Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. to the Department of Homeland Security's Tribal Homeland Security Advisory Council) Page 2 of 3

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that the nomination made pursuant to this resolution shall immediately expire if the individual no longer continues to serve as an elected official of the Tohono O'odham Nation; provided that the Nation will seek to have the then-current chairperson of the Nation appointed to the Department of Homeland Security's Tribal Homeland Security Advisory Council.

The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 14<sup>TH</sup> day of OCTOBER, 2022 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 3,218.0 FOR; -0-AGAINST; -0-NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by, Article VI, Section 1(b), Section 1(c)(2), Section 1(j) and Section 1(f)of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat.984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Jimothy Johduin, Legislative Chairman

ATTEST:		, 1		
	u Jy	egislative	S4	
116		Mah	Secretai /h/	•
116	day of _	Odeshi	'p	, 2022

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

imothy Joaquin, Legislative Chairman

YI APPROVED	on the 14 day of October 2022
] DISAPPROVED	on the
	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
	tive Secretary on the <u>//</u> day of , 2022, at <u>5://</u> 0 o'clock, <u></u> .m.
Sum Lasa	1 -

ACTION: NOMINATING TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION CHAIRMAN NED NORRIS, JR. TO THE DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY'S TRIBAL HOMELAND SECURITY ADVISORY COUNCIL

MOVED: COUNCILMAN DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III

SECOND: COUNCILMAN ROGER MANUEL

**DATE:** OCTOBER 14, 2022

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN:
SIF OIDAK	1. MARY LOPEZ	122.8	х			
245.6	(Ann M. Garcia)	122.8	X			
	2. LUCINDA ALLEN (Francis Homewytewa)	122.6				
SELLS	1. ARTHUR WILSON (Absent)	278.25	X			Х
556.5	(Shelia Espino) (Present)	278.25	X			
	2. EVELYN JUAN-MANUEL (Arvada Liston)					
SCHUK TOAK	1. TERESA F. DONAHUE	95.25	Х			
190.5	(Alberta Espinoza) 2. DELISA M. RAMON	95.25	X			
	(Sharon A. Francisco)					
SAN XAVIER	1. DANIEL L.A. PRESTON III	121.3	X			
242.6	(Racheal Vilson-Stoner)  2. JANICE FELIX	121.3				
	(Adam P. Andrews)		X			
SAN LUCY		121.9	x			
243.8	(Lorraine M. Eiler) ( <i>Present</i> )  2. ROGER MANUEL	121.9				
	(Christina Andrews)		X			
PISINEMO	1. MARIETTA MARTIN	116.35	х			
232.7	( ) 2. EDWARD D. MANUEL	116.35	X			
	(Monica Morgan)					
HICKIWAN	1. LOUIS R. LOPEZ	108.3	X			
216.6	2. DELMA M. GARCIA	108.3	X		:	
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	135.35	X			
270.7	( )	135.35	X			
	2. CYNTHIA SAAVEDRA (Dallas Lewis)					
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	139.25	X			
278.5	( )	139.25	X			
	2. VICTORIA HOBBS (Tonya L. Joaquin)					
CHUKUT KUK	1. MARLAKAY HENRY <i>(Absent)</i>	175.8	X			х
351.6	(Billman Lopez) <i>(Present)</i>	175.8	X			
	2. VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS (Absent) (Cornelius Antone) (Present)	173.0				
BABOQUIVARI	1. ALBERTA J. RAY	194.45	X			
388.9	(Frances G. Antone)	194.45	x			1
	2. LEANDER MASE (Francine Schooling)					
	TOTAL	3,218.0	3,218.0	-0-	-0-	[02]